Around A.B.UStudent Guides

List Of Some ABU Zaria Notable Alumni

Sitting on a land mass of about 7,000 hectres With a total number of 35,000 students (presently), 14,000 research and academic staffs and approximately 5,000 surport staffs is Ahmadu Bello University, located in the Northern ancient town of Zaria, Kaduna state has over the years since its inauguration in  1962 has produced and graduated over 900,000 students including past and present governors and ministers.

Been the second largest university in Africa and one of the largest university in the sub Saharan African region, Ahmadu bello university over the years has displayed beautiful graduation and convocations.

Over the years there have been many notable and distinguished alumni and its almost to not possible to write all of them down, But here below are some of the notable alumni.

1. Alash’le Abimiku executive director of the International Research Centre of Excellence at the Institute of Human Virology Nigeria

2. Ahmed Abdullah OON, former Agriculture and Rural Development Minister

3. Atiku Abubakar GCON, former vice president, Federal Republic of Nigeria

4. Aisha Alhassan former minister of women affairs

5. Adamu Aliero former governor, Kebbi State

6. Ayodele Awojobi scientist and professor at University of Lagos

7. Anthony Ayine auditor general for the Federation

8. Ahmed Nuhu Bamalli Current Emir of Zazzau and former Ambassador to Thailand

9. Afakriya Gadzama former Director General Nigerian State Security Service

10. Abubakar Ibn Umar Garba Shehu of borno

11. Azubuike Ihejirika former Chief of Army Staff

12. Attahiru Jega professor, former chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)

13. Ahmed Makarfi former Kaduna state governor

14. Ahmed Tijjani Mora pharmacist, president of ABU Alumni Association

15. Abdullahi Mustapha former vice chancellor (ABU)

16. Abdullahi Aliyu Sumaila administrator

17. Auwal H Yadudu Nigerian academician and Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State

18. Andrew Yakubu former group MD, NNPC

19. Aisha Augie-Kuta photographer

20. Bukar Ibrahim former governor, Yobe State

21. Danbaba Suntai former governor, Taraba State

22. Demas Nwoko artist and architect

23. Dahiru Musdapher former chief justice of Nigeria

24. Dino Melaye senator, Kogi West

25. Donald Duke former Cross River state governor

26. Faruk Imam Muhammad justice, Kogi state Judiciary

27. Franka brown Actress

28. Gani Odutokun artist and educator

29. Ghali Umar Na’Abba former Speaker, House of Representatives

30. Ibrahim Hussaini Doko DG of Raw materials Nigeria

31. Ibrahim Gaidam former governor, Yobe State

32. Ibrahim Garba former vice chancellor (ABU

33. Isa Marte Hussaini professor, pharmacologist


Ibrahim Kpotun Idris Former IGP Nigerian Police Force

35. Idris Legbo Kutigi former chief justice of Nigeria

36. Ibrahim Lamorde former chairman, EFCC

37. Ibrahim Lamorde former chairman, EFCC

38. Ibrahim Shekarau former Kano state governor

39. Ibrahim Umar former vice chancellor and scientist

40. Ibrahim Shema former governor, Katsina State

41. Isa Yuguda former governor, Bauchi State

42. Ibrahim Zakzaky prominent Shi’ite-Islam cleric, founder Islamic Movement in Nigeria

43. Jude Rabo vice-chancellor of Federal University, Wukari

44. Jerry Gana former information minister

45. Kabiru Ibrahim Gaya former Kano state governor

46. Magaji Abdullahi former national chairman of the National Centre Party of Nigeria (NCPN), former senator, former deputy governor

47. Magaji Muhammed OFR, former Minister of Internal Affairs, former Minister of Industries and former Ambassador to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

48. Maryam Ciroma former Minister of Women Affairs

49. Mansur Muhtar former executive director of the World Bank

50. Mike Omotosho national chairman of the Labour Party (Nigeria)

51. Muhammad Mamman Nami Executive Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service FIRS

52. Mohammed Bawa former Ekiti State governor

53. Muhammad Nasirudeen Maiturare professor, former vice Chancellor, IBBUL, Niger State

54. Muhammed K. Abubakar academic, former minister

55. Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai governor of Kaduna State

56. Nuhu Ribadu former chairman, EFCC

57. Namadi Sambo former vice president of Nigeria

58. Nenadi Usman former finance minister

59. Oladipo Diya GCON, former vice president/CGS, Federal Republic of Nigeria

60. Olufemi Obafemi Poet, Playwright, and Author

61. Patrick Ibrahim Yakowa former governor Kaduna state

62. Saude Abdullahi – Aliyu Educational administrator

63. Solomon Arase Educational administrator

64. Turai Yar’Adua former first lady

65. Usman Saidu Nasamu Dakingari former governor, Kebbi State

66. Umaru Tanko Al-Makura former governor, Nasarawa State

67. Usman Bayero Nafada former deputy speaker, House of Representatives

68. Rebecca Ndjoze-Ojo Namibian, politician

69. Uche Okeke artist and educator

70. Ussif Rashid Sumaila economist

71. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua GCFR, former president of Nigeria

72. Sunday Awoniyi Northern Yoruba Leader, former chairman ACF

73. Shehu Ladan former group MD, NNPC

74. Sanusi Lamido former governor Central Bank of Nigeria, former Emir of Kano

75. Rilwanu Lukman former secretary general OPEC & Petroleum Minister

76. Yahaya Abubakar Abdullahi Senate Majority Leader of the Nigerian 9th National Assembly

77. Yahaya Bello governor, Kogi state

78. Yayale Ahmed former secretary to the Government of the Federation

79. Zainab Abdulkadir Kure politician

80. Catherine Uju Ifejika chairman and CEO, Brittania-U Limited

Above listed are most of the powerful and notable men and women members of ABU zaria Alumni.

Related Articles

Back to top button